The Second Five Book Reviews

Greetings and salutations!!! And I am back with my second set of books this summer! Some of these were really good; some of them were kind of meh.

Uno ~ Ark Angel by Anthony Horowitz ~

This is for the prompt specifying “A YA book.”

Well, I… I read ahead and spoiled a plot twist for myself. If I hadn’t done that, I’d have enjoyed the book more. But it is not the author’s fault I did a stupid thing! I like how the Alex Rider books keep my attention; they’re so full of action that I don’t want to put them down.

What I don’t like – There is some stuff I don’t really appreciate, profanity and stuff. Also it is disgusting, how little the antagonist cares for his son. He is a horrible father.

I bestow upon this book ~

Dos ~ Frog and Toad are Friends by Arnold Lobel ~

Awww… *moment of silent nostalgia* I remember listening to my mother read this book when I was like, 5. I am using it for the prompt of “A book with less than 300 pages.” This book has precisely 64 pages.

One thing I liked ~ they’re such good friends. They’re not perfect, but their friendship lives, even when they mess up. I really like the sense of humor. And the pictures are like the cherry on top of the ice cream.

One thing I didn’t like ~ idk, I wish it had been longer lol. Unto this worthy contribution to classic children’s literature, I give ~

Tres ~ A Tale of Despereaux by Kate DiCamillo ~

This one is for “A book with pictures.” It has these amazing pictures through it; I wish I could draw like that. Maybe I’ll pick up drawing again… *contemplation*

I really liked the concept in it that even if we are small and insignificant, we can still do big things. It’s not wrong to aspire for more. Most of the characters do this; Despereaux, small even for a mouse, wants to be a hero. Mig, a serving girl with a pathetic history, wants to be a princess. Roscuro, an outlaw rat, wants to live in the world of light, out of the dungeon. And they all act on their aspirations, daring to reach for what seems impossible.

I didn’t like the king very much. I mean, I get that he was incredibly sad and shocked when the queen died. But I think outlawing soup/anything soup-related is going overboard. I am thinking that perhaps the author wrote that the king did that to emphasize his grief and confusion, which is understandable. I still think he went overboard, though.

Overall, I bestow upon this piece of literature ~

Cuatro ~ The Silver Donkey by Sonya Hartnett

This one is for “A book with a color in the title.”

One thing I liked ~ The pictures were cool.

I… I don’t know what the point of this book is. Like, the characters are trying to help an AWOL soldier escape home, he tells them stories about donkeys, la la la. There is no plotline. I was disappointed, since I was really looking forward to this book.

But… the whole story seemed kind of aimless. I feel like there’s this profound message hiding in it that I should have gotten, but missed somehow. If you’ve read this one and got something out of it, by all means tell me what it was. *facepalm* Honestly, I feel bad giving it one star. But seriously. It was pointless.

Cinco ~ Snakehead by Anthony Horowitz ~

This one is for the “A book with the letter “K” in the title” prompt.

What can I say?! I enjoy Anthony Horowitz’s writing style. I sat down today and read this entire book in one sitting, pausing only for lunch. My favorite part was the plot twist, although I did like the character who turned out to be antagonistic.

This one got a little intense. Yeah, they’re all intense. But this book’s villain just seemed more evil than the other books’ villains, if that makes sense. Imma slap 4 stars on Snakehead.

Until we meet again,

If you wish to see my other book reviews, click this thing.

One response to “The Second Five Book Reviews”

  1. ————–
    Wow, these book reviews are fantastic! I’m always on the lookout for new reads, and this post has given me some great options to add to my list. Thank you for sharing your thoughts and recommendations. Can’t wait to dive into these books!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment


Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started